Mayweather vs. Pacquiao

The May 2015 edition of The Ring magazine published an excerpt of my prediction for the Mayweather-Pacquiao fight. The unedited version I sent is below:

The fight is finally signed (although until they’re in the ring, I won’t say it’s finally here–call me skeptical).

Had this fight taken place in 2010, Mayweather would have smoked Pacquiao out of the ring. Look at his fight against Zab Judah, another speedy southpaw who got to Floyd early: Mayweather landed 47% of his punches versus Judah’s 19% connect rate.

But we’re in 2015, not 2010. Maidana had the perfect blueprint in the first fight: non-stop punching. Even with that strategy, Mayweather dwarfed Maidana’s connect percentage, 54% to 26%.

Pacquiao’s only chance is to throw caution to the wind and throw 1,000-plus punches. He threw 669 punches for a 34% connect rate against Chris Algieri. Pacquiao won’t have the openings to throw as many punches against Mayweather, and he won’t connect as highly as he did against Algieri.

I’m rooting that Pacquiao proves me wrong, but my head says Mayweather gets a clear unanimous decision.

**UPDATE 5/3/15: It went pretty much like I thought. As Ring Magazine’s Michael Rosenthal wrote, Mayweather “fought a brilliant defensive fight and did enough offensively.” A solid win, but not on par with the brilliance of his performances against Diego Corrales, Ricky Hatton, or Juan Manuel Marquez.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Mayweather vs. Pacquiao”

  1. Regulating Fantasy Sports | The Blog For Truth, Justice, & The Josh Way Says:

    […] moral claim on how I choose to spend my money. I’d much rather spend money on fantasy boxing (a sport I know a little about), where I have won free games in the past couple years, than ever spend it on a sucker bet like a […]

Leave a Reply

